Altering the Plaster Moulds

 

Having thought about using my forms into objects in their own right for the exhibition, I realised I would need to cast my forms solid in the ceramic to at least give me this option, otherwise the forms would have big pour holes at the rear. This involved making a plug for the plaster mould which you insert once you have initially poured in and poured out the slip, leaving a bit of slip inside and rotating the mould so the slip covers the hole with the plug in it resulting in a solid cast. This meant making plugs for the mould; a simple process as you can see below.

I will now be able to cast the forms solid which should look really nice.

Leave a Reply

