Slip Casts for Neptune and Uranus

I have now poured the slip into the casts for Neptune and Uranus and got out some decent forms after a few attempts. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get my hands on any Porcelain slip this week and due to the kiln firing schedule, I wont be able to do a Porcelain cast this term, however I have used a white earthenware slip which is still going to give the forms a high white finish, which I can glaze at a later date.

I am really pleased with how the forms look in ceramic and I am really excited to see how they come out of the kiln. The plaster mould picked up the tool marks from the CNC machine which has transferred into the ceramic which looks brilliant.

Leave a Reply

