Medal Making stage 1

The first thing I did was make my 3D print ready for casting. In the pictures you can see how I went about making the print in Rhino. Once this was complete, I began making the outer ring in clay as it was impossible to create the natural texture of bark in the CAD software. I went out and impressed clay onto the bark of a tree and then cut it into strips the width of the rings. I attached these strips to clay that I had already stuck to the side of the biggest ring to get the correct curve on edge of the bark that would fit into the outer ring.

When I was done I cast all the individual pieces in silicone and then cast the pieces in wax. I made several wax cast to allow for issues and mistakes. Next I need to make my wax tree for bronze casting and then engrave the texture onto the rings

Leave a Reply

