Wood Workshop Part 3

I have now finished my table. The finial stage was just a simple case of applying a finish and screwing down the table top. After extensive consideration I chose to finish my table in the same way I had finished my box; leaving the natural colour and feel of the wood. I don’t like it when wood is stained and tried be made to look like it is a more expensive wood such as teak, oak or mahogany. I like to accentuate the grain and natural beauty of the wood you are using and let it speak for itself. So I used beeswax to polish the surface and protect it. Beeswax does require quite a lot of elbow grease, it is not simply just a case of painting it on but you reap what you sow and the finish is beautiful. Below are image of the final thing.

IMG_1036 IMG_1042 IMG_1040 IMG_1045 IMG_1054 IMG_1047 IMG_1055

I am pleased with how the table looks, although it isn’t in the style I would usually choose. It has been really useful to learn the construction techniques for a table. I was also useful that the table had cabriole legs because I understood how to 3D cut on the Bandsaw. The skills I have learn in this workshop I will be able to apply to constructing further furniture items such as that in my subject projects and any further furniture projects that I undertake.

Leave a Reply

