Field Presentation

Today we had a formative assessment to see how we were getting along with our projects for field. We had been asked to talk a bit about what we had experience about the trip to the city, what we had done with that trip and what we were thinking about for a final piece in our Field City Project work.

Below you can see my slides for the presentation along with my scrip for what I was speaking about.

Slide1

The first thing that stuck me in The Hays was heightened sense of perspective due to all the lines of the buildings all lines seem to lead from the central statue in the middle of the square. Whilst the lines of perspective seem to center from the statue, the crowd movements seemed to all center around the statue not because it was a place of interest but because it was at the cross roads of different pathways to different places so it was the point at which people made a turn to go one place or another.

 

 

Slide2

 

Drawing 1- trying to capture sense of perspective. Drawing 2- Sound drawing for 20min I listened for sounds in the square that stood out for me. I would then write this noise down and place it on the page in relation to where I was hearing it, drawing up a kind of sound map and sound drawing tracking sounds as they moved. From the image one can kind of distinguish where the most common path for people to walk is as the sounds are most dense there. I think its interesting that we usually don’t associate sound with a visual imagery, however when we hear sounds we try locate them in space and therefore sound can be converted into a drawing. We also have 360 “view” of sound hearing things from all directions.

 

Slide3

In the above slide I looked at pattern and texture on the manhole covers. I really liked their industrial, solid and very robust feel. Pattern can be very ordered or a bit more random as you can see with top image. Each has its own individual character, some are more worn than others, there are many different designs by different company’s; different branding all leading to different things below. They are the only things that hints to us there is a hidden city of pipework below us. Manholes each tell of a period or event in history when it was placed down/ designed by company.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slide4

 

What I am interested in looking at and taking forward is drawing pattern from data, taking shapes and forms out of what may seem like chaos. With the green picture I took a map of manholes and did a sort of dot to dot of the manholes joining them up like the underground pipework does, joining them up in a circle shape but taking some random turns. I could do this multiple times to create planes in Sketchup layering these plane on to each other and then joining them up to create a 3D form, which could be quite complex and couldn’t just be thought up. The form would be inspired by read data for manholes. You can see I started a section in Google Sketchup. Each form will always be individual like the manholes themselves have an individuality. I thought I could possibly then etch the complex pattern created by the array of pipe in a BIM or MEP drawing onto the surfaces, 3d print it and create a light out of it radiating the manhole forms and complex pipework making visual something we have never seen in the city.

 

Presentation 4

 

I like the idea of using forms and patterns that we usually don’t see or appreciate in the city to inspire a 3d form that can be used as a functional piece of art. I have been looking at mapping movement of people around the city and the shapes and patterns that this creates. I want to use this to relate to a 3D form. The bottom two images are showing movement of people between different stops in London. I quite like it when the lines are straight rather than curved on a normal map. The Underground map are all straight lines. Curves can then arise out of straight lines. The top two images depict crowd density which produces some interesting fluid like shapes.

Below is the feedback sheet from the presentation.

IMG_20150217_0001 IMG_20150217_0003

From here I need to follow up the artists and company’s that have been suggested that I research, to help me answer the question of what kind of lit object will I make and what is its context, where will it be placed/used. I like the idea that the light would be for the home but it is inspired by the city and brings in the city via beautiful presentation of useful city data.

 

Leave a Reply

