Woodturning and Welding Inductions

I managed to get some one-off inductions to Woodturning Lath and Welding. These were both machines that I have had a lot of experience with, having got a woodturning lath at home in my garage and my project last year involved hours of MIG welding, so I found the inductions quite straightforward.

I enjoyed the woodturning induction. We were turning from a faceplate which is not how I usually turn. I usually turn between centres and create a grip for the jaws of a chuck to then turn a bowl. This allows me to creat a proper bowel shape. The faceplate restricts the profile of the bowl as you can see in the picture below the final outcome didn’t have the curved look of a bowl. This frustrated me a bit because I know how to turn from a chuck and I have to do another induction to be able to to that on the lath in the workshop. However, I did learn something new to do with the finishing of the wood. We used Lime wood for our project which I haven’t used before. I really love the wood, the light color with the beautiful grain pattern. I did find it harder to sand though with the wood tending to scratch when applying sand paper and getting those scratches out took a lot of hard graft. But when it was sanded down to a satisfying level, we applied some wax, which transformed the wood into a beautiful glossy and natural wooden object. You build up the layers of wax, melting the wax on and then taking the excess of with a rag. You can have as many layers as you want and the more the glossier!

IMG_0692

 

IMG_0691.JPG

IMG_0693.JPG
The second workshop was MIG welding. I really enjoyed this workshop, having done it before I didn’t find it hard, in fact the MIG welder was a lot better that the one I learnt on, so I found it much easier to get a nice clean weld, which was very satisfying. I also had a go on the ARC welder. This was new to me and is a very old school technique but give a very effective and gives a strong weld, however it is a bit trickier. Instead of having an endless supply of welding rod like you do on the MIG welder, you have to regulate the rodyourself. I found it was quite hard to strike the initial arc and at first I would tend to press the rod down into the metal surface and the rod would stick. But after a couple of attempts and making sure that I actually hovered the rod above the metal so it didn’t stick, I got the technique. Next I would love to have a go at the notoriously tricky TIG welding.

IMG_0700.JPGIMG_0698.JPGIMG_0699.JPG

IMG_0697.JPG

Leave a Reply

